Strong Kids - Donate Now

Health, Fitness & Aquatics

Star Levels

 Upon successful completion of the Learn to Swim levels, swimmers begin the Star Levels, which are open to everyone ages 6 and up.

Star Program (Levels 1-4)

Level       Description
Star 1

Front crawl, back crawl, introduction to whip kick, sculling, vertical surface support

Star 2

Introduction to breaststroke, front crawl, back crawl, eggbeater

Star 3

Elementary backstroke, front crawl, back crawl, eggbeater, dolphin kick

Star 4

Breaststroke, sidestroke, elementary backstroke, eggbeater, dolphin kick, 150m swim, front/back/side floats

Star Leadership (Levels 5-7)

Level  Description
Star 5

Butterfly, 500m endurance swim, Lifesaving Society Rookie and Ranger Patrol first aid, swimming & rescue components, and introduction to teaching swimming

Star 6                     

600m endurance swim, Lifesaving Society Swim Patrol first aid, swimming & rescue components, how to teach swimming continued, advanced swimming stroke standards

Star 7

Prepares swimmers for entrance in Bronze Star or Medallion program, includes lifesaving and fitness, first aid, how to teach swimming continued.  Includes  a volunteer component (min. 4 hours required by end of session)